Trust and Governance

ASBAIT was set up and operates by an "Agreement and Declaration of Trust" in accordance with the laws of the State of Arizona, including, without limitation, Arizona Revised Statutes Section 15-382 as it may be amended from time to time.

Operational authority of the Trust is by the Board of Trustees. The ASBAIT Board of Trustees is comprised of governing board members, superintendents, and business managers from member districts from across the state. As Trustees end their term of service and seats become available, the executive board members interview and make recommendations to the Arizona School Boards Association's (ASBA) board for appointment. Trustees are appointed to serve an initial term of four years, July 1 - June 30, with the possibility of reappointment for additional term(s). Efforts are made to keep a balance between the types of trustees and the geographic locations for representation to maintain a diverse board to best govern the insurance trust.

The Trustees meet four to six times per year to conduct the business of the Trust. Their major responsibilities include approving renewal procedures, overall budget, contractors, and independent audit and actuarial reports. The Trustees may also hear and make decisions on Appeals or Exceptions for claim payments to member employees or dependents.

If you are interested in serving on the ASBAIT Board, please submit a letter of interest and a resume via email to Kristi Sisk, Executive Assistant to the Executive Director at by 5 p.m. Friday, April 30th, 2021.

Applicants must be an ASBAIT member and can be a superintendent, business manager, or school board member. Applications will be reviewed by the ASBA Executive Director. Those selected will move forward for in-person/virtual interviews. Selected candidates will be approved and appointed by the ASBA Board of Directors at the June board meeting.


Board of Trustees

Karla Walter

Term Expires: June 2023
Roosevelt ESD, Chief Financial Officer

Mark Aguire

Vice Chairman
Term Expires: June 2024
Liberty ESD, Board Member

Wendy Qualls

Term Expires: June 2022
Litchfield ESD, Business Manager

Dr. Sheila Harrison-Williams

Joined Board: December 2019
ASBA Executive Director

Kevin England

Term Expires: June 2023
Solomon ESD, Superintendent

Linda Yazzie

Term Expires: June 2022
Holbrook USD, Board Member

Barbara Underwood

Term Expires: June 2023
Payson USD, Board Member

Robert Devere

Term Expires: June 2024
Tombstone USD, Superintendent

Crystle Nehrmeyer

Term Expires: June 2025
Oracle ESD, Superintendent

Dee Puff

Term Expires: June 2025
Palominas ESD, Board Member

Desiree Fowler

Term Expires: June 2025
Page USD, Board Member

CJ Beckstrom

Term Expires: June 2022
Buckeye ESD, Business Manager